Home

Overview

On opening SoloAssist, the Home menu gives you access to common features and setup options. If this is your first time using SoloAssist, make sure you've read through our Getting Started to setup SoloAssist before starting your first quote.

To start a quote, select 'Start New Quote' under 'Welcome', then select 'Use a copy of the Sample Template'.

Welcome


New Job

Start a new quote/job from a copy of an existing job file, or by using a copy of our sample template.

If your just starting with SoloAssist, select Use our sample template. It's a great place to start, to see how SoloAssist can be setup. You can learn a lot from how each views groups and items has been setup.


Note: A quote or job file are the same. The only difference is when you win a job, you will lock the contract total and start using its other features to run your job.


How to evolve your quote or job template?

To evolve your quote or job template, always start your new quote/job by selecting your last existing quote as your template. This will roll forward any template changes or customisations you previously made. e.g. groups, items, pricing, etc. This process creates a new template copy, removing any previous job-specific data entered from the previous quote or job. Allowing you to start a new quote/job with a cleared up-to-date template.

Open Job

Allows you to open an existing job.


New Template

This allows you to build a new customised job template. You can then use it for quoting and running jobs.


Jobs


This lists your recent job and quote files. Click on a job to open it, or right-click to see its menu. When a job is open, you can also interchange jobs from its Contract Total display.

Right-click menu

  • Open
  • Open file location
  • Open a copy
  • Remove from list

Save, Save As, Auto Save, Backups

Save

Saves the current quote/job file with its existing name and save location.
When an asterisk (star symbol) appears after the job file name extension e.g. (.quo*) this indicates a change has occurred to the current open job file. This asterisk will disappear after the job has been saved.


Save As

Allows you to rename and save a duplicate/copy of the job file to the same or different save location.


Auto Save Backups

SoloAssist default saves your quote/job file backups to:

(C:) User > (Your name) > Document > SoloAssist > Quotes & Jobs > Backups

This location can be changed in your SoloAssist Home menu > Options.


See Options ► Auto Save Backups

Print

Print

This opens the print options to preview, print, or save to PDF your quotes or job reports.

Learn more

Job Details

Job Details

This opens the job details of the current job open. You can add and edit your job details as required.

Learn more

Clear Views

Clear Views

Depending on your selection for each view, it can either clear (delete-out) the job specific data entries of the current quote/job open, or it can clear everything (delete-out) the quote template groups with its items of each selected view. If you are unsure, create a quote/job copy first before clearing any data. Once applied, it cannot be undone.


Do Not Clear

This option ensures that no data entries or template setup will be cleared.


Clear Data Entries

This option will clear the job specific data entries of the selected views in the current quote/job only. This can help with restarting specific views of the quote.


Clear Everything

This option will clear everything in the selected views of the current open job template. It will not effect your Organisation details, Price List, or Plans items.

Add-Ons

XERO Connection

The Xero connection allows you to import contacts from Xero, and send expense invoices from SoloAssist to Xero.

Learn More


MYOB Connection

The MYOB connection allows you to import contacts from MYOB, and send expense invoices from SoloAssist to MYOB.

Learn More

Options

Options

Options allows you to show or hide which tab views you want to use, reset deault settings, change the location of your SoloAssist Databases, Auto Backups, and User Settings.

Learn more

Organisation

Organisation

This allows you to setup multiple interchangeable business details, with your own customised business terms of trade. You can enter terms & conditions for small works contracts, sales invoices, client variations, and subcontractor variations.

Add your business logo within the sizes shown below. This will ensure they display correctly and not look fuzzy, blurry, or partly show.


Logo Sizes

Header Logo (Max. 250wide x 200high pixels)

Footer Logo (Max. 500wide x 50high pixels)

Help Centre

Help Centre

This opens the SoloAssist Help Centre. It has instructions on all views and windows throughout SoloAssist so you can learn specific areas of the SoloAssist software 24/7.

Contact Us

Contact Us

Links you directly to the SoloAssist website Contact Us page, to provide feedback or submit a question or request.

Remote Assistance

Remote Assistance

Allows a support or training agent to directly access your computer from another location. You will need to book a date and time for this service.

About

About

This shows the SoloAssist software version number and What's New in the software. It displays your SoloAssist subscription details and Software Terms Of use. It also enable you to renew your user subscription and add an extra user if required.

Exit

Exit

This closes SoloAssist. If changes have been made to your job or quote file, it will then save your changes, then close.

How do I...

Save my work?

Save
SoloAssist saves your work automatically when interchanging tab views, closing the Price List, or closing Plans on-screen takeoff. Additionally, in the Home menu, you can select Save or Save As.

You can save your quote/job files to any location e.g: Documents, OneDrive, Dropbox, Google Drive, or other.

When an asterisk (star symbol) appears after the quote/job file name extension e.g. (.quo*) this indicates a file change that has not been saved yet. The asterisk symbol will disappear after the quote/job has been saved.

The SoloAssist Home menu Save and Save As options will perform as follows:


Save will save the the current quote or job file to its current location, and performs the same as our auto save when interchanging tab views.


Save As allows you to save the current quote/job file with a different file name, to another location, if your wanting to create a duplicate copy of the quote or job file. Typically, used for quoting large or complex job variations.

Troubleshooting

My quote/job files have disappeared from the Jobs list?

Please note, this is not a SoloAssist software issue, its a computer setup issue.

To resolve the issue, try the following.


1
If you have renamed your quote files or job folders or moved either of them to a new location. Then the SoloAssist Recent list saved locations of those quote files, will no longer exist. Hence, your Recent list will have disappeared. In the SoloAssist software Welcome menu, select Open Existing then find and open your quote file/s again. They will then reappear in your Recent list.

If this did not work, try point 2 below.


2
Alternatively, this issue can also be caused by your OneDrive or Dropbox auto backups relocating your Documents folder and files. If you turn off the OneDrive or Dropbox Documents auto backups, your SoloAssist Recent list should start working again. This is because your SoloAssist user settings Recent list is stored in: This PC Documents SoloAssist Settings

If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

Error Message - A quote file has become corrupt, has an error or is incorrect?

To resolve the issue, try the following.


1
If you are working with files from OneDrive, Dropbox, GoogleDrive, Sharepoint, etc, you will be able to log into your account and locate the file version history and restore the file back to before the problem started.

2
Alternatively, see the SoloAssist software Home menu Options Auto Save Backups, to help find a backup file that works.

If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

My logo isn't displaying correctly?

Check your business logo sizes are within the specifications below. If they are incorrectly sized, they may appear blurry or cut off.

Header Logo (Max. 250 wide x 200 high pixels)

Footer Logo (Max. 500 wide x 50 high pixels)