Options

Show Views

Show or Hide Views

Select or deselect a tick box to show or hide its tab view in SoloAssist. Open a quote first, then go to Options, then tick or untick a view, and you will see it show or hide.

Default Layout

Reset SoloAssist's Show Views, Column Widths, Window Sizes

Selecting the Reset button, resets the Show Views tick boxes to show all views and resets the Column Widths and Window Sizes back to the original Default Layout throughout SoloAssist. Use this to troubleshoot any layout issues. Once applied, you may need to re-adjust each view column widths to see all of each column's data.

Databases

General

By default, your SoloAssist databases are saved to: (C:)Documents SoloAssist Databases

By default, your SoloAssist database backups are saved to: (C:) Documents SoloAssist DatabasesBackups

If you require SoloAssist on multiple devices, you will need to setup Option 1 or 2. We recommend Option 1, it's the overall safest and most flexible to share and backup data between devices.

Option 1 - Multiple Devices - Cloud-Based Storage (Recommended)

Pros & Cons

  • Pro - Your data is stored both on local disk and 3rd party offsite server e.g. OneDrive, Dropbox, Google Drive, SharePoint, etc.
  • Pro - Share folders can be setup from multiple locations using an Internet connection.
  • Pro - No backup system is required as it will already be provided by the 3rd party service.
  • Pro - Your data will automatically synchronize between all shared devices after your file has been saved and closed.
  • Pro - It will have a file history restore feature.
  • Pro - Multiple users using different devices can access different quotes or jobs at the same.
  • Con - If multiple users open the same quote or job file at the same time and save their work, then a duplicate conflicted file copy can be made. Take caution with multiple users. One (1) quote or job file open = 1 user of the same quote or job file at a time.

If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

Option 2 - Multiple Devices - Shared Network Folder

Pros & Cons

  • Your data is stored locally on your computer or on a server that you control.
  • Your data is shared with other computers on the same network.
  • You will need to set up and manage your own backup system.
  • When a quote/job file is open, it cannot be edited by other users at the same time.

If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

Option 3 - Single Device - Local Disk (C:) Drive

Pros & Cons

  • Your SoloAssist databases default install location is: (C:)Documents SoloAssist Databases
  • Your data is stored locally on your computer e.g. Local Disk (C:)
  • Your data is not shared with other computers.
  • You will need to setup and manage your own backup system.
  • Quote/Job files cannot be accessed by multiple users from other devices unless using on-screen remote assistance.

User Tip

Although there is nothing wrong with using Option 3, it is safer to use 'Option 1' to save and store your SoloAssist quote files, job and client documentation.


If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

Price List (shared database)

Price List Activation

Quotes & Jobs created before the Price List database was activated will not be compatible with the Price List cross file-sharing database or the Update Pricing feature next to the Contract Total. Only quotes & jobs that originate, derive or copied from the original quote template where the Price List database was activated, will have this feature.

Activation

The Price List database can only be activated once. Make sure you follow the steps below.


Step 1
Open the quote or job file that has the most up to date SoloAssist Price List information. This Price List will setup your database for future shared pricing. While keeping this quote or job open, go to Step 2.

Step 2
Go to the Home (menu) ► Options DatabasesPrice List File Location ► press Activate.

Step 3
After you have successfully activated, the button should now say Activated. Now that you've activated this quote file template, all quotes that originate, derive or copied from this template will have the shared Price List database. Unfortunately, all other existing quotes or job files/templates will not be compatible with this feature. As you do more quotes into the future, then all your quotes and jobs will having the shared Price List database and the Update Pricing button as a standardised feature.


If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

Backups

Auto Backups

When Auto Save Backups is turned On, SoloAssist will automatically save time spaced backups of each quote file. The backups file location is shown in the SoloAssist Home (menu) ► Options Backups Folder Location Open Backups Folder.
If you start using one of the backup files in SoloAssist, make sure you do not re-save the backup file into the Backups folder. Select Save As in the SoloAssist Home (menu) and save it to your job folder. Then remove the backup file extension e.g. _15min _30min _1hr _4hr _older.

OneDrive, Dropbox, GoogleDrive

If you are working with files from OneDrive, Dropbox, GoogleDrive, or another internet (cloud-based) application, you will be able to log into your account to locate your files version history and restore the file to a previous date and time before the problem occurred.


Note: Each time you close SoloAssist it will automatically create another backup copy that overrides 1 of the 5 time spaced backup files. Take care not to override the backup copies with an incorrect or corrupted file. Always fix any file problems as they arise and resave the incorrect file with a different file name to prevent it auto-saving over a good backup copy. This way SoloAssist's time spaced backups will not override the uncorrupted backups.


If you require assistance, please contact your local IT technician.

User Settings

Auto Backups

This folder location is where SoloAssist saves your personal User Settings. e.g. Recent List, XERO or MYOB login details, All views custom column widths, etc.

Do not share this folder with other users. We recommend to keep it setup locally on your computer, or in a non shared personal work folder in: e.g. OneDrive, Dropbox, etc.